Sheila’s Welcome Post

Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine being on the cusp of such an incredible journey. Attending Mount Mary University has given me so many opportunities to try new things, but I never thought a study abroad trip was in my future. Now, it’s less than one week until departure.

Normally, I’m the planner. It’s what I do. Forward and backward, I painstakingly research and plan every aspect. With this study abroad program, Mount Mary University made all the plans. “Let it go” will be my mantra for the duration. (Did you just hear the “Frozen” song?)

Traveling is about the experiences, the monument looming over you and the sand in your Keds at the end of the day. It’s about those moments that a camera could never possibly capture. That’s why you rarely see me in any travel photos; I’m taking in the moment. However, I did come across this photo of me at Lambeau Field in Green Bay.

img_0003

This study abroad program and all the experiences it holds begins in Copenhagen, Denmark on March 3, 2017. We will spend one day in Malmo, Sweden, easily accessible from Copenhagen across the Oresund Bridge. After returning to Copenhagen, we will continue making memories in Oslo, Norway and complete our tour in Stockholm, Sweden on March 12, 2017.

The term Scandinavia is used to refer to all three countries above, but also includes Finland and Iceland. The map below shows details for the countries and the inset shows where Scandinavia is located in the world. Thank you to the Nations Online Project for providing the image (nationsonline.org).

img_0001

Along with my first overseas adventure, this is my first blog. As your virtual travel companion, it will be my pleasure to share the experience so you feel as though you are standing next to me at each point of interest. See you in Copenhagen!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jamie, Angie & Kirsten says:

    Cannot wait to hear (and see) all of your adventures!! Have an amazing time and just go with the flow. Have an amazing trip my friend – we will be stateside watching your travels. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sheila VB says:

      Thank you, my friend. I will do my best to “go with the flow.”

      Like

  2. Cheryl McShane says:

    What an amazing experience you have ahead of you! I know you will absorb and cherish every moment! Can’t wait to read more about your travels!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sheila VB says:

      Thank you for your kind comment, Cheryl. We are just getting started, but should be blogging everyday while in Scandinavia.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Marmy Clason says:

    Try to relax a little Sheila! 🙂 Let someone else do a little planning! I am so proud of all the hard work you have done. Enjoy….

    Like

  4. Sheila VB says:

    Yes, I am doing my best to “let it go.” So far, so good. Thank you for your kind words. See you in the blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

