It’s All in the Details

Do you ever walk or drive past areas near your home so many times you never really notice things until someone else does? Walking through Copenhagen today, I wondered about the citizens and how they must be as oblivious as we are when it comes to their home city. As I considered this thought, I became drawn into appreciating the details: the curve and texture of the cobblestone walkway, the movement and flow of the music, and the mouth-watering aroma of the hot dog stands.

You may be thinking hot dogs don’t always conjure up culinary haute cuisine, but Copenhagen does their dogs proud. All organic and placed in a warm roll, topped with sautéed peppers and onions, and while I chose to have mine topped with spicy mayo, you could choose a pesto or Italian sauce.

img_0014

While walking to meet our tour guide, I spent my time checking out the details of the city streets. They are filled with cobblestones everywhere, even the newest streets contain remnants from the past. This morning’s rain left the stones defined with an outline I noticed right away. In my new state of awareness, I began to see quaint images of bikes, doorways, and small details gone unnoticed by the swarms of people in the square.


While I was taking in every bit of Copenhagen, I heard music playing. Looking around, I saw a man playing the keyboard. He created the perfect soundtrack to the idyllic setting with songs like “Moon River” and “My Heart will Go On.” With much appreciation, I tipped the musician and asked for a photo. I don’t think he will ever know the impact and the memory he created for me.

img_0079

By paying attention to the details in Copenhagen, I feel it has enhanced my experience. Since we are on the subject of details and paying attention, in case you were wondering, because of a wrong way bus ride and massive inter-group miscommunication (which we quickly remedied, by the way), we had to reschedule the palace for tomorrow. In the meantime, check out some of my photos from our walking and boat tours today.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m so excited to tour the palace tomorrow and I can’t wait to bring you along. See you at the palace!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Tante Laurie says:

    Loving your blog. You are always about the details!

    Like

    1. Sheila VB says:

      Thank you. That means a lot to me, coming from a great writer like you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

