It’s Real: You’re Here

Climbing over 150 feet into the air, when I reached the viewing platform of the Danish Parliment’s tower, thats when it finally hit me: I truly was living, breathing, and walking through another city and another culture, over 4,000 miles away from home.


(Top: view from Danish Parliment tower. Bottom: Danish Parliment building.)

Touring sites like Rosenborg castle have only deepened this realization. Rosenborg was built by one of Scandinavia’s most famous kings, Christian IV, in the early 17th century.


This building still stands today, preserved like a time capsule surrounded by the modern city of Copenhagen. It contains artifacts from Denmark’s royalty, including weapons, furniture, artwork, and even the historical Crown Jewels.


Just last week I was living my daily life in Milwaukee, WI., walking around campus, eating lunch with my friends, and driving up and down familiar roads. Now, I am in a foreign country half way across the world, walking in buldings that kings once lived in over 400 years ago, eating danish foods  in modern markets where I scramble to decipher the language, and walking through unfamiliar city streets.

Every day when I wake up in my hotel room, it’s as if I have to remind myself that yes, this is really happening, that I am really here in Copenhagen, thousands of miles away from home, and I am experiencing a small glimpse of what life is like in a different culture.
This study abroad experience will benefit me and impact my life in countless ways, some of which I may not fully understand or realize until many  years from now. The limitless potential and growth that arises from traveling abroad is truly exciting and astounding. On this earth, each and every one of us shares an innate human connection: when you live with an open mindset, this connection flourishes and allows for people to learn from one another.

Nothing is more powerful than the knowledge and understanding that is born from the sharing of perspectives.

So here’s to new viewpoints, perspectives, and being 4,000 miles from home. For the last four days, Denmark has treated me very well, and I know it will continue to do so for the duration of my stay. I am thankful for all that I have seen, all that I have heard, and all whom I have met who have helped me open my mind, see through different lenses, and truly become a global citizen.

The world is an amazing place that each and every one of us deserves to experience in our lifetime. What a priceless gift it is to be living, breathing, walking, and experiencing life in a different country.

I’m feeling thankful.

Until next time,

Ashley

PS: I tried my first danish hot-dog today. Bought from a small hotdog stand, It tasted incredible and had a spicy kick to it; however, it didn’t top my love of a classic Chicago Dog!

Leave a Reply

