Reindeer Meat in Oslo

I tried reindeer meat for the first time! It was an appetizer. I thought it was going to be bigger than it was. It was smaller and soft. We thought it might be raw because it was so soft and chewy. There were different foods you could put in the reindeer meat to make it taste better! I went with Gigi, her mom, daughter and another Interior Design professor named Merri.  We went to a restaurant called Cathedral’s Castle.

Here is a picture of the Reindeer Meat!


I also had a Norwegian pasta dish with chocolate drizzled on the plate!


Later, I found out from Ingrid who I visited with later at our hotel, that they would usually put Reindeer meat in a stew, so it would taste better and be more flavorful!  Ingrid was my family’s foreign exchange student from Oslo.  She went through the AFS program at Wauwatosa East, where I went to high school.  We were actually her liaison family.  We had her over for the weekends and to our trip to Door County, when her host family couldn’t.  We gave them some time to go on their own vacation.  

Here is a picture of Ingrid and I! 

Leave a Reply

