Nobel Peace Center Research post

On Wednesday, March 8th we went to the Nobel Peace Center! I was supposed to research on this. The Nobel Peace Center is based in Oslo, Norway. It opened on June 11th, 2005. The first prize was awarded on December 10th, 1901. Malala Yousafzai was the youngest peace prize winner in December 2014 at 17 years old! She was the girl who stood up for education. She has even written a book at 16 years old before she won the Nobel Peace prize. I got the book for my birthday a couple of years ago! It is called “I am Malala.” 

It also happened to be International Women’s Day when we went! I think it is cool that we went there on the day we did and we saw all of the pictures of the Nobel Peace prize winners including Malala, the youngest one. The pictures of them had sparkly frames! And at one point, all of the pictures in the sparkly frames lit up and turned into pictures of Malala and in the room you could hear her speech from winning the award in the background! I thought that was really cool that one of the most recent ones and the youngest one and a female was the one they chose to have the speech in the background!

https://youtu.be/8hx0ajieM3M
Here are some pictures I took at the Nobel Peace Center! 


Since I started at Mount Mary in 2011, I have been a member of Shalom Club which means peace, so I liked that we were able to go here. I was President of Shalom Club for my last two years, so it has helped me to be a leader ! I was part of it for five years because it took me five years until I graduated last May. It was the first club I joined. It has made a big difference in my life since I started. I would encourage everyone to be in a club that talks about peace because we all need more of that in our world. 

All in all, I had a great time there and would like to go back if I had another opportunity to go again! 

Leave a Reply

