Hello Milwaukee I’m back 

It felt good to be back home! I was ready to leave Scandinavia! I learned about the Nobel Peace Center because I researched it.  I also learned about different kinds of photography and pictures! I learned that Copenhagen has a lot of palaces and castles! I saw how changing of the guards works! 

I also learned that hotels in Copenhagen have a card you put in the slot to have the light go on because they are environmentally sustainable and that they bike a lot. 

I learned that Denmark is the happiest country in the world and that Scandinavian countries are in the top 10 of happiest countries on International Day of Happiness which was on the first day of Spring, March 20th. I also learned that from a book I read called “The Little Book of Hygge: Danish Secrets to Happy Living” by Meik Wiking. It was published last year!  I also learned about the word “Hygge” from a student’s blog post in our class and more about it from reading this book! 😀  It is a danish word which means cozy. Also, I didn’t know this before, but you can also add it to other words to make them sound cozy and use it as past, present or future tense! It can be used as an adjective or verb. I learned this from the book too! 

My most exciting part of the trip was going to the ice bar because I have never been to one before and it was really cool! I also liked going to the Abba Museum because I like their songs and the movie “Mamma Mia” which has their songs in it! It is one of my favorite musicals and movies. I also liked going to the Nobel Peace Center because I was in Shalom Club. I liked going to see my first opera, “Dead Man Walking.” I liked going to see the different palaces and castles, including “Rosenborg Castle” in Copenhagen with the Crown Jewels! 

I liked the food in Scandinavia! I especially liked the Norwegian pasta and Lasagna I had in Oslo! I also liked the Oreo Cheesecake I had at the Papiroen in Copenhagen! It was an old paper factory turned into a restaurant with vendors. Papiroen means paper island. 

If I could change one thing about the trip, it would be that the Kronborg castle was open because they were filming something in there and I would have liked to see inside it!  Another thing is I didn’t see the room on the first floor of the National Gallery Museum in Oslo. I would have liked to, but I didn’t know what was in there until I saw a student’s blog post that there was a chalkboard you could write on and say that you were there. It said that Mount Mary students were there! 

The trip has changed me as a person and my outlook on the world by going to different countries in Europe that are not very common places to go. I have been to Paris, but not Scandinavian countries before. Also, how I went to one of the most sustainable cities, Copenhagen! I have never been somewhere, where most people ride bikes everywhere and that is the most common form of transportation. I have never been to a hotel, where you have to put a key card in a slot in order to turn the lights on and to make sure you turn off the lights before you leave your room! That is cool! 

I have never been on a high speed train or a cruise ship before and be on one overnight. Also, I experienced my first ice bar at our hotel in Stockholm! It was a very fun experience! 😀  It was very cold! Everyone gets 45 minutes in there. I hope someday to go to another ice bar somewhere else with my family too, so they can experience it as well! I hope you enjoyed reading about my trip to Scandinavia, as much as I liked writing about it! 🤓


Pictures to come later of the ice bar when I receive them!

Leave a Reply

